Georgia Department of Law, from the office of Thurbert E. Baker, Attorney General


Arkansas and Arizona added by Attorney General Baker to List of States Entitled to Georgia's Firearm Permit Reciprocity

January 15, 2008

Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today two additions to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states.  Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits. 

The States of Arkansas and Arizona have determined that they will honor Georgia firearms permits.  Therefore, effective January 15, 2008, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by Arkansas and Arizona

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.