Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today an addition to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of Alaska has determined that it will honor Georgia firearms permits. Therefore, effective immediately, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by Alaska.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.