Georgia Department of Law, from the office of Thurbert E. Baker, Attorney General


Oklahoma added by Attorney General Baker to List of States Entitled to Georgia's Firearm Permit Reciprocity

April 4, 2005

Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today an addition to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of Oklahoma has now determined that it will honor Georgia firearms permits effective May 1, 2005. Therefore, effective May 1, 2005, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by Oklahoma.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.