Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today two additions to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The States of Louisiana and Mississippi have now determined that they will honor Georgia firearms permits effective September 30, 2004. Therefore, effective September 30, 2004, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by Louisiana and Mississippi.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming.