Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today an addition to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of South Dakota has now determined that it will honor Georgia firearms permits effective August 30, 2002. Therefore, effective August 30, 2002, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by South Dakota.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Tennessee and Wyoming.