Georgia Department of Law, from the office of Thurbert E. Baker, Attorney General


Attorney General Announces Firearms Reciprocity with Two Additional States

February 13, 2002

Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today two additions to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of states which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The States of Alabama and Wyoming have now determined that they will both honor Georgia firearms permits effective February 15, 2002. Therefore, effective February 15, 2002, Georgia will recognize firearms permits issued by Alabama and Wyoming.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states:

Alabama, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, New Hampshire, Tennessee and Wyoming.

Please note that although Texas was previously listed as a state with which Georgia had reciprocal recognition of firearms permits, currently no such reciprocity exists between Georgia and Texas as to firearms permits.