Attorney General Thurbert Baker announced today that he has been elected Chairman of the Southern Regional Conference of Attorneys General. The Southern Regional Conference includes the following 15 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

The election occurred late last week during the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) meeting in Seattle. As Chairman, Baker will serve on the Executive Committee of NAAG and be responsible for coordinating the agenda of the Southern Conference.

“I am honored that my fellow Southern Attorneys General would choose me to serve as Chairman of our regional conference,” Baker said. “I hope that we can work together to make our southern states better places to live by fighting crime, protecting consumers and promoting open and responsive government,” he continued.