Firearm Information

Firearms License Reciprocity

Georgia law authorizes the State of Georgia to recognize the weapons licenses of any other state whose laws recognize and give effect to a Georgia license.  The following is a list of those states: 

Alabama, Alaska*, Arkansas, Arizona*, Colorado*, Florida*, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana*, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri , Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia*, West Virginia, Wisconsin*, and Wyoming.

CAUTION!  Georgia weapons license holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on Georgia weapons licenses in any of the reciprocating states where they may wish to exercise their rights.  Weapons laws vary from state to state and there may be municipal or county ordinances regulating weapons in reciprocating states.  Also, please note that reciprocating states may honor Georgia licenses in regard to firearms while not recognizing licenses as to other weapons, such as knives. 

*Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Louisiana, Virginia and Wisconsin recognize only those Georgia licenses issued to persons twenty one years of age or older; Georgia recognizes all Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Louisiana, Virginia and Wisconsin licenses.